How I got started & my motivation Part 1

10 Jul

I was hoping to get someone else to write this because I am a firm believer, “it always sounds better coming from someone else” but I couldn’t expect someone to turn this around in a few days as I promised. For those of you that asked to hear my story, here is the short version. I am breaking it down in parts and here is part 1 starting with my childhood. One’s childhood plays a significant role in the development of an individual. I’ve been asked to tell my story for different publications and every time I reflect on my childhood, I learn something new about myself.

I was 5 years old and my Dad had announced that there was no more training wheels and it was time to learn to ride a real bike. There was no option to give up and my Dad made that very clear. He said that I would not be able to come back into the house until I learned to ride the bike, even if that meant sleeping outside. After a few tries, I got on that bike and road it straight to the elementary school. I challenged all of the boys to a race because I was sure I could beat them. I didn’t receive any rewards and my parents were taking pictures of me, but I was excited that I could do something that seemed impossible at first.

That same year I remember standing up to a guy in my kindergarten class for making fun of another girl who had a lisp. I refused to let him come to my birthday party for being mean to her. I’m not sure who I thought I was, but I was strong enough as a kid to stand up for what I believed in and I knew I had a voice that people would listen to. Later on I wound up defending numerous other classmates and continue to do so. I’ve always felt it was important for people to be treated fairly.

 

As a kid, I wanted to play every sport. I loved soccer. There were 8 boys and myself so generally all the partner drills left me as the odd man or should I say girl out. My Mom didn’t like how I was treated so she took me out of the program. I was sad because I didn’t care, I just wanted to learn and I knew that playing with the boys would make me better. Next I joined dance class which I also loved and right before the recital my Mom was going into the hospital with cancer again, so I had to quit. I was devastated and I felt like a quitter even though it wasn’t my decision. From that day on, I didn’t want to quit anything and it became a relentless passion to see things through.

When my Mom was sick in the hospital, my Father and Nanny would take my sister and I in the woods. My Dad built us a fort and go-carts. We had horses to ride and I started a kickball team. I loved being outdoors and I loved having friends over to play. When my Mom got out the hospital she helped me start a club and I had all my friends over for arts and crafts. I also led a dance club and would create routines with my my twirly baton. I guess I was like a little aerobics instructor back then and enjoyed being the leader and creator of the group.

We don’t always understand our parents decisions but looking back on how much I love Spartan racing, I am so lucky to have spent so much time outdoors with my Father and family. I think about how much my Mother liked to dance and how much I love it. I am thankful that my Father never gave me the option to quit and he never made a big deal when I succeeded. I didn’t need my parents to clap and take pictures because mabye I would have thought that I had achieved enough. Instead it made me so curious to see what was left to achieve and that desire is relentless.

Thank you for taking time to read about me. Please feel free to comment and share your thought and comments.

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “How I got started & my motivation Part 1”

  1. Andrea Ferrry July 12, 2016 at 1:05 pm #

    Winners are made..not born….and so your story tells this. Part of your story made me a little teary…young children dealing with a parents illness is a tough road. Hugs to you sweet Madeline.

Leave a Reply

