A Look Inside My Refrigerator

3 Dec

Like most people, I know what to eat. I’ve studied nutrition since I was a teenager and even got the caterer to add egg whites and veggies to the morning breakfast menu at my college. What to eat isn’t the challenge for me as much as having it readily available when I don’t have the time to sit down and make a meal. Whether I am running to a class, running to a meeting or actually running, if I grab food on the road, it is always a challenge to eat clean. To ensure I am eating healthy each week, I have worked with an Integrative Nutritionist to develop a plan. This plan requires that I shop and have everything ready in containers. This is how body builders get their body fat low for competitions.

As I put together my shopping list to ensure I am getting a lot of veggies, protein, good fats and good grains, I am going to give you my top 10 ideas for healthy meals. If you prepare your meals ahead of time, you are more likely to succeed. I have taught fitness for 18 years, run 20 marathons, and what you eat determines how you look and how you perform. It is the key ingredient to winning races and feeling amazing!  Go ahead and try out one of my tips and let me know if you feel like a Superstar this week.

1. Put salad in containers. I love having a salad during the day and packing it in a container ensures I can grab it and run out the door.

2. Put salad dressing in little containers ahead of time. Most people are more likely to eat their salads if they have dressing on it. Aim for a low fat or all natural kind. Trader Joes has some great options.

3. Buy frozen berries, protein powder, and non-sweetened Almond milk so you can make a shake when you crave something sweet. 

4. Choose your favorite veggies, chop them up, and place them in baggies so you have a healthy snack to munch on when you get hungry.

5. Always have chicken breasts or beans to add protein to your dishes.

6. Have protein bars so when you need something quick, you can ensure you are getting an adequate amount of protein.

7. Edamame is a great snack and a good source of protein and fiber. Trader Joes has edamame that is already cooked so all you have to do is put it in the microwave.

8. Store your favorite fruit in a fruit bowl and place in a visible area. I l always have Honeycrisp apples and Asian pears in my fruit bowl to grab when I want something sweet.

9. A great way to curb late night cravings is to have different teas available. Some of my favorite are Chai Vanilla Spice, Peppermint, and Chamomile.

10. Have hummus and salsa in your refrigerator at all times so you can dip your veggies in and have that extra flavor.

Below is a picture of all my meals prepared in containers so I can easily pack them for the road. It takes me less than 5 minutes every morning to pack up my food for the day.

Image

If you are prepared, you are sure to achieve your goals. Stock up on healthy foods and keep them with you. Every healthy choice brings you closer to your goals.

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline Dolente

Leave a Reply

