Putting Things Into Perspective with Gratitude

28 Nov

This morning I ran the Turkey Trot, which is the 10K or 6.2 mile race I do in Bethesda every year. I was annoyed because the parking was a nightmare and I had to start in the very back. I couldn’t find my group or anyone I knew for that matter. My GPS wouldn’t pick up the local signals and then my stomach started making funny noises. My hamstring started bothering me when I realized my shoelace was undone. As I looked down I noticed my timing chip was no where to be found. My ipod kept changing songs because my jacket was rubbing against it and at that point I felt like going back home and getting back into my warm bed.

As I began climbing my first hill, I thought back to how big the hills were during the San Francisco marathon I had just ran a month ago. I looked over and saw a blind man running with a partner and tears fill my eyes. It made me so thankful for all the things I take for granted. I’m able to see so many beautiful things! I admired the strength of the man running to my left and I thought about how easy it can be to focus on the negative, when really there are so many beautiful things right in front of our eyes.

I am thankful that I have been able to run this race for 12 years. As I look back to prior years I think about how much fun I have had running this race with friends who mean so much to me. I am so thankful for my friends, family, strength, opportunities, God, and this beautiful day! Share your thanks with someone and have a Happy Thanksgiving!

Stay tune for tomorrow’s post Turkey Burn. I will post a fitness video that you can do from home. You won’t need any equipment but a towel.

turkey trot

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline

http://www.Madfitness.com

One Response to “Putting Things Into Perspective with Gratitude”

  1. Carlotta November 28, 2013 at 2:15 pm #

    Happy Thanksgiving Madeline! I miss you!

Leave a Reply

