Make Thanksgiving Part of Your Plan

24 Nov

I love Thanksgiving because I have a lot to be thankful for. Every year I wake up Thanksgiving morning and run the Turkey 10K with one of my girlfriends, then I drive up to NJ to see my family. I visit three houses on Thanksgiving day and each house has a lot of good food.  My family takes pride in serving a good meal and they often spend several days preparing many of the dishes. The food is delicious, but that doesn’t mean I need to eat it all. That doesn’t mean I need to gain 5 pounds after running a race. If I ate what everyone served me, I’d feel like a Thanksgiving float in the Macy’s parade and would be busting at the seams. I am going to share with you the tips I follow to maintain control over the holidays.

1. Never eat the bread. Save your calories for nutrient dense, flavorful dishes instead.

2. Start with water. This will help you curb your appetite. Alternate each drink with a glass of water and you will drink less as well.

3. Drink alcohol after eating a salad or some other greens. If you drink on an empty stomach, you will wind up craving carbohydrates and sugar because your alcohol lowers your blood glucose. This will cause you to eat more than is necessary.

4. Go green. I always start with a salad, veggies, or green beans so I am sure to have something nutritious and full of fiber.

5. Be a snob. If there are several dishes, only put the foods you like on your plate. Most people will eat whatever is on their plate, so if you don’t like it, why eat it?

6. Sample the dishes. By choosing smaller portions, you can enjoy each dish without having too much. This makes it more fun and you will feel better at the end of the night.

7. Savor every bite. There is no reason you need to gobble up everything. Eat slowly and you will not only enjoy the food more, but you will also be more aware of you are feeling.

8. Don’t go back for seconds. Chances are that you are enjoying the food with other family members. Spend time talking with everyone and let others enjoy the food.

9. If you like sweets, save room for dessert. I love this one dessert my Uncle brings so I eat a little bit less at dinner and I only cut a small piece of the dessert.

10. Don’t take home the leftovers. I made the mistake of taking home the fried shrimp one year. It was delicious but i didn’t need it so I won’t make that mistake again!

Holidays are a really fun time to spend time with family and enjoy each other’s company. Start the day with something active and remember that you can enjoy great food without sabotaging your goals. Stay tune for some awesome recipes…And why don’t you join my team, MADFITNESS and run the Turkey 10K with me this year! You can register at http://www.eventbrite.com/e/31st-annual-turkey-chase-registration-5378356

810 Image

 

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline 

http://www.Madfitness.com

 

One Response to “Make Thanksgiving Part of Your Plan”

  1. Julian E S Wright November 24, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

    Good post… going to definitely get the quality food in… and lots of it!

    Julian E S Wright  Please excuse any typos  Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

Leave a Reply

