Time to get content America

12 Nov

So many people deny themselves of delicious food, that they spend most of their day never being content. Many people who snack feel like they never eat enough. Many snacks are void of nutritional value and many are eaten without much thought. Think about the bag of chips that you bought yesterday. Where did all the chips go? You may have been eating them while you were on the phone or watching television, and then poof, like a magic trick, you look inside the bag and they are all gone. So what do you do next? You may look in the freezer to see if there’s some ice cream or if there’s something sweet in the cabinets. This dilemma is exactly why I think more of an emphasis should be placed on eating nutritious meals.

I am currently working with an integrative nutritionist and she has asked me to eat more meals and less snacks. It makes so much sense because if I am not content, I am going to want more. Last night I had a soup from one of her recipes and the flavors were so delicious, that I throughly enjoyed every bite. I didn’t need any snacks.

If you are looking to lose weight or be healthy, try eating meals that are good for you and that you enjoy. Eat less snacks and think of your food as fuel and look at the nutritional content. Here is my top 10 for enjoying meals rather than snacking.

1. Choose a meal that has protein, fiber, carbohydrates, and fat. Always include a vegetable and fruit if possible.

2. If there isn’t much flavor, use sea salt, pepper or even pepper flakes. You can also play around with cumin, garlic, ginger, and cinnamon.

3. Savor your meal by taking a minimum of 15 minutes to eat without disruption. Chew eat bite and enjoy the flavors.

4. Meet with a coach to find recipes that work with your tastebuds and needs.

5. Drink before or after a meal, just not during.

6. Try to get 6-8 hours of sleep a night so you don’t have to snack just to stay awake.

7. Don’t have snacks in your home. No one needs chips, fries, pastries, donuts, candy. They are all empty calories and void of any nutritional value.

8. Eat good fats like avocado, nuts, olive oil but stay away from trans fats.

9. Eat some form of protein at every meal. This will prevent your blood sugar from spiking.

10. Try out some new recipes. Check out http://www.kaleandchocolate.com

I started changing my breakfast. I used to grab a bar and hit the road. I never made time for breakfast. Some times it was a protein bar, sometimes a granola bar but it was never filling and often times I’d forget I had it. I was often hungry by 10am and nothing seemed to satisfy me. Now I sit down to eat scrambled egg whites with asparagus or spinach and oat bran with blueberries. It’s delicious and nutritious! in fact, it’s a lot more food and a lot less calories than I’d been snacking on. It fills me up and I don’t eat again until lunch time.

Inspired? Need more ideas? Comment here…

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline

Don’t forget to join me this Thursday night at 7pm for Jump and Jam

Leave a Reply

