Attitude

26 Oct

The night before the Nike Women’s San Francisco marathon, I attended an Inspirational dinner for Team in Training for the Leukemia & Lymphoma society. I had the opportunity to meet an amazing woman, Pavi and her husband. This was her first marathon and she had many concerns and questions about the marathon that would take place in ten hours. She wasn’t sure if she would be able to complete the race. She hadn’t run over 20 miles and was concerned about hitting the wall. She didn’t know when to eat and how much.

I thought about her questions and I told her that she would be successful if she wanted to be. I told her that she had two choices. She could run in misery or enjoy the scenery. I asked if she met anyone who was really miserable and always complained and then I reminded her that there are people in the same situation who are quite happy. The only difference between the people was their attitude. She had a choice. Which perspective did she want to have?

I look at the marathon as the icing on the cake. Once you have put the training in, there is nothing else you can do. I told her to run smooth, smooth like butter, without any concerns. I told her to enjoy the run. I shared my experiences with her and gave her advice of when to take water, gu, monitoring her time, and advil in case of pain. I had the opportunity to spend time with her again the morning of the marathon and I reminded her that her attitude would determine her outcome. For once I took my own advice and had an amazing race.

Later that day I received an email from Pavi. Here is an excerpt from her email,  “Yayy I completed my first freakin 26.2 miles!! loved how you asked me to take it ‘smooth’ :)Thanks alot for the inspiring and useful tips. It was such a pleasure meeting a gifted athlete so down to earth. All that you spoke to Sandeep and me at the inspiration party was a huge help to me.”

Pavi had an awesome attitude and it was evident in her excitement following the marathon. Imagine if everyone was that excited, they too would have an awesome experience. The next time you are faced with a challenge, don’t dread it, embrace it. Have a great attitude and the rest is history.

I wish all the Marine Core Marathon runners an awesome marathon and lots of fun miles!

In Health and Happiness.

Madeline

http://www.Madfitness.com

Image

Leave a Reply

