When the Clock is Ticking

16 Oct

My day started at 4:30 am. I would have loved to stay in bed, but if I wanted to get in my own workout, I had to be out of the house by 4:30 am. We are all busy taking care of spouses, kids, work, and other responsibilities and as we get older, the days seem to get shorter. There never seems to be enough time to do it all. Instead of trying to do it all, carve out some time for exercise. If you want to look and feel good, you have to make time for daily activity. Below is a list of the top 10 ways to fit exercise into a busy schedule.

1. Schedule your workouts on your calendar and make them special appointments that you cannot miss.

2. Invite your friends or spouse to join you for a hike, run or fitness class. Working out with friends makes it all that much more fun!

3. Catch up on your reading on a stationary bike or a stepmill.

3. Work out during your lunch hour. Walk or go for a run. If you are close to a gym, take a class.

4. Do a dvd or an online fitness routine. Check out some of the videos on my blog for 10-30 minute routines.

5. Workout first thing in the morning if you know you are going to have a long day.

6. Join a bootcamp or hire a trainer. If you have to report to someone, you are more likely to make it a priority.

7. Join a league or running group. So many of my college athletes join teams after they graduate because they enjoy the camaraderie. There are so many different fitness groups on Meetup.com. If you like to run, join us on Monday night‘s in front of the Barnes and Nobles in Bethesda, Maryland.

8. Sign up for a goal. If you have to accomplish something, you are more likely to stick to a routine, especially when your time is limited. I sign up for marathons because it forces me to run. I have the Nike San Francisco marathon this weekend and I would have slept in several Sundays, but I wanted to complete 26.2 miles without pain.

9. Focus on the benefits. When I have limited time, I remind myself  how much better I will feel if I take 30 minutes to run.

10. Something is better than nothing. Even if you jog for 10 minutes or do a set of pushups and situps, you are still improving your health.

You can’t add time to your life but you can increase your quality of life by improving your health. Make time every day to do something active and feel amazing! Please share a comment here on how you incorporate activity in your busy lifestyle.

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline

zengo photoshoothttp://www.Madfitness.com

5 Responses to “When the Clock is Ticking”

  1. strictlymotivated October 16, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

    Madeline this is a great post… I wish you the best of luck on your Marathon.. I have the Marine Corps Marathon coming up I am nowhere near your level but every little bit counts right?

    • mdolente October 16, 2013 at 9:19 pm #

      Thank you for your kind words and every accomplishment is another reason to celebrate. You will be awesome, now what will you do to celebrate after the marathon?

      • strictlymotivated October 16, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

        Thank you.. great question… LOL try to keep the flame going… there is a Half Marathon in Wilmington NC 5 days later…. let’s see how that goes.

      • mdolente October 16, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

        Wow, your training schedule is awesome, I just tweeted your post. Do you do 2 hours of cardio every morning?

      • strictlymotivated October 16, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

        Just 30 – 45 minutes of calorie burn…. usually incline treadmill or stairmaster.. at lunch I try to get an hour of running in… however I need to compensate with increased caloric intake somewhere else down the line so I don’t wither away.. #fitnessissues

Leave a Reply

