Strawberry Kiss Protein Shake

17 Sep

Yes, the name sounds quite nice, like a sweet juicy kiss, well the drink is just that, but it also has additional benefits!

Nutrition plays an extremely significant role in getting leaner, losing weight, and becoming more defined. People are always asking me how they can get tighter bodies. If there was one trick, we would all be fitness models. Exercise and nutrition are both important in achieving a tight sexy body.

I have always been interested in nutrition, but as I mentioned in one of my more recent blogs, I wanted to learn more.  I had a burning curiosity on natural foods and ingredients that could increase lean muscle mass, decrease body fat, increase my energy levels, and aid in better digestion. So, I spent the last few months studying nutrition by reading the top 25 books, doing extensive research, and experiencing an intense cleanse in Asia.

You can become very lean eating raw, but to maintain muscle or increase definition, you need a significant amount of protein as well.  Later this week I will talk more about various sources of protein for your shakes, but today I am going to give you the recipe for my favorite shake. I call it Strawberry Kiss because I love strawberries and its creamy and dreamy!  You will need a blender. I recommend the Vitamix, but other blenders will work as well.

Strawberry Kiss

1 cup of fresh strawberries (cut off the tops)

1/2 frozen banana (this makes the shake sweet and creamy)

1 Tbsp fresh cacao

1 scoop of chocolate protein powder (I like Designer Protein)

1 Tbsp of coconut flakes (unsweetened)

1 tbsp of chia seeds

1 tbsp flax powder

1 tbsp of Oat Bran

8 ounces of almond milk (unsweetened)

While this may seem like a lot of ingredients, I use many of these ingredients in every shake. Almond milk is 30 calories for 8 ounces and a staple in my diet. I have it in shakes almost every day. I’m not having dairy right now so it’s a great replacement when I want something creamy. I slice a banana daily and put it in the freezer in a plastic ziplock bag so I can have it in my shakes because I like them sweet. Chia seeds are a great source of energy and less expensive at Trader Joes. Oat Bran and coconut have a nice chewy taste so they make the texture like a cereal and oat bran is great for digestion. Flax powder encourages proper digestion and regular waste elimination. If you don’t have time to shop, you can order this all on Amazon and if you sign up for subscribe and save, the prices are often better than what you will see at the grocery store.

Try it out and let me know what you think. I’d love to hear your feedback so go ahead and comment on the blog! Forward this recipe to your friends. Have them sign up for this blog.  If  you want to learn more, come to one of my fitness events, here are the links:

http://activelifedc.com/events/fitness-fundraiser-at-equinox-bethesda/111951

http://activelifedc.com/events/zengo-cycle-event-for-the-leukemia-and-lymphoma-society/111952

strawberry kissStrawberry Kisses,

Madeline Dolente

http://www.Madfitness.com

Leave a Reply

