Triathlon Adventures in Turks & Caicos

23 Aug

Turks & Caicos

It was Friday morning at breakfast when I saw a sign that read, Triathlon at 5pm on the beach.  I looked over at Christian and said, “let’s do it!”  He looked back at me and agreed.  As we sat at breakfast, I started to think about our plans for the day.  We were going to spend the day sailing and snorkeling with 60 of our friends and I’m sure we would be enjoying cocktails and good food.  I wasn’t sure that we would have the energy at the end of the day to compete in a beach triathlon, but I didn’t worry about it.  It was island time and the only thing we had on our minds was making it to the sailboat in time.

Soon we were off to meet our friends and one by one we boarded the sailboat and the journey began.  The bride and groom were glowing with happiness, all the family and friends were elated with joy, the beaches were breathtaking, and the water was crystal clear.   The bride had made fantastic sandwiches and there was beer, rum, and lots of spirits to be enjoyed.  After scuba diving the last few days, I was really excited to get out into the water and snorkel.   The water was crystal clear and the fish were all different colors of yellow, blue, green, and gray.  I was having so much fun that I didn’t want the adventure to end.

It was late in the afternoon and as we sailed back to the beach, I began thinking of the race.  I started to get nervous because I knew we wouldn’t have much time to relax or prepare.  As we walked to the meeting point, I wondered whether I would be able to swim well enough to be competitive.  Christian reassured me that I would be fine.  Without any hesitation, I looked at the competition and took off…

I was nervous, but I had to give my best, so I focused on the buoy and soon enough it was time to turn around.  Soon enough I got in my zone and I picked up my pace in the run and sprinted through the sand with every last bit of energy.  I felt like I was going to puke or collapse, but I survived, and even better, I WON, first place for the Women.

I did this race on a whim, without any expectations but giving my best.  I had no idea of what to expect and I wasn’t sure if I would be able to swim that far, but I knew I wasn’t giving up.   Later that night I was presented with my first place award on the stage at Club Med.

I challenge you to step outside your comfort zone and try something new.  New challenges bring out your confidence and prove to you that your potential is far greater than you could have ever imagined.  So, go for it and tell me what challenge you will sign up for!

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline

http://www.Madfitness.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,636 other followers

