One Change

7 Jun

After writing the article about Mayor Bloomberg’s proposal for banning sugary drinks over 16 ounces and reading everyone’s comments, I started to think about my own actions and what I can do to live a healthier lifestyle.  Over the past few days, I have been traveling for work with very little time to exercise, and a lot of time spent sitting and socializing over meals.  I wasn’t able to run or teach any of my classes.  I ate most of my meals at restaurants and junk was constantly being shoved in my face.

The fact of that matter is that meetings, family, and social events can lead to less time for exercise and more consumption of empty calories.  This weekend I will be traveling again and will be eating at restaurants for most of my meals.  I know that one week of less activity and more calories consumed can be havoc to my body, so I developed a plan.  I will make a concerted effort to eat as healthy as possible when dining out and I will NOT consume any bread during my meals.

First, I am not a Bread Nazi!  But I do think that drinks, bread, salad, appetizers, and an entree is way too much food at one meal for someone of my size.  Who really needs to consume all of that in one sitting?  So if I take one unnecessary item out, it will be the bread.  Making a decision prior to the event will give me the strength to maintain the commitment.  There are some situations you may not be able to avoid, but you can control your reactions.

Discipline is the key ingredient for success, so tell me, what is one thing you will do to improve your health?  Just think, if you made one healthy change each week, you would  achieve your goals in no time at all!  It all starts with you because you matter!

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline Dolente

http://www.Madfitness.com

2 Responses to “One Change”

  1. Matt Lawson June 7, 2012 at 9:07 am #

    I feel that that much food in one sitting is to much for anyone but people just get so use to being out and consuming what is put in front of them. I actually talk to my clients about coming up with rules for healthy living and just like the one’s they grew up with like how some feel they deserve dessert after every meal. Being able to say, “bread isn’t part of dinner when I eat out” is a good one to add to the tool box.

  2. Clay June 7, 2012 at 10:27 am #

    I love this idea! Not just for the bread as my 1 item to change when I travel but to change 1 or maybe 2 things to improve overall. Like you I travel and eat out a lot, but doesn’t mean I should sacrifice being healthy to work dinners etc. My change is no sweets. No dessert no snacking sweets. I have a bit of a sweet tooth so it isn’t easy but I notice the change right away. Thanks for the advice and motivation.
    Clay

Leave a Reply

