Preparation for the Boston Marathon

15 Apr

Tomorrow, Monday April 16th, thousands of runners will be running the Boston marathonBoston is the Mac Daddy of all marathons and one of the hardest to qualify for.  I am so proud of all of you who qualified!   In your honor, I wanted to share some tips that helped make my marathon enjoyable! 

Last month I ran the New Orleans Rock & Roll marathon.  I train year round and I will say that the training is everything.  The marathon is just the icing on the cake, but its really the long weekend runs that matter.  In fact, it’s the journey that shapes your life so I cannot say enough about consistency in training.  That being said, it is very important to be prepared the morning of the marathon so I wanted to share with you my tips at 5am on March 2nd, thirty minutes before my friends and I were leaving to run 26.2 miles.

Using the tips, I had a great marathon.  The only other thing I would highly recommend is making sure you use the bathroom before the start.  My friend and I both stopped to go to the bathroom and it added several minutes to our time.  So go ahead, watch the tips I have used for the last 50 marathons and half marathons, and let me know if there is anything that works well for you! 

It is going to be hot tomorrow so drink plenty of water!  I wish all the Boston marathoners A LOT of luck, so go out and have fun!  Make this a wonderful experience!

Heading out for a run myself!

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline Dolente

www.Madfitness.com

Leave a Reply

