Getting Outside the Comfort Zone

12 Apr

Life is easy when you live in the comfort zone, but what would you do today if you knew you wouldn’t fail?  I’m sure a whole list of things come to mind.  Perhaps you could start your own company, go skydiving, scuba in Australia, or mabye even fall in love. 

It’s the risks that make us uneasy and can scare us. 

Risks are scary because there isn’t any guarantee we will succeed, but without taking risks, how do you find out what you are capable of?  When we get outside our comfort zone we learn more about ourselves and become stronger individuals.  It can be scary but it is the most wonderful feeling when you succeed.

This past weekend I taught a cycle class at Zengofitness.  Afterwards I went mountain biking with my friend.  I hadn’t been mountain biking in ten years.  In fact, my bike was so old, I had to get a new one.  I didn’t know if I would succeed.  I didn’t know if I’d be able to jump the logs, and I could have easily gotten hurt, what if I couldn’t keep up?  However, I am not the person who lets fears prevent me from doing something.

Saturday I got on my new mountain bike and followed my friends to the trail.  I flew past the trees down the dirt path, through a stream, and up a hill.  I caught a glimpse of the sun shining through the trees, and I thought to myself, “I am so lucky to be here and there is no where else I’d rather be!”

Now I did fall climbing one of the hills, and at one point my chain came off, but it made the adventure all that more fun.  Getting out into nature and challenging myself to give more, be more, and live more is how I hope to live every day.  Below is a picture of me after the ride. 

What is one risk you can take today that will bring you closer to the life you dream of?

Share your adventure with me, comment to this blog….

Be sure to check out tomorrow’s blog for some more great Life Coaching tips….

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline

http://www.Madfitness.com

One Response to “Getting Outside the Comfort Zone”

  1. Anth April 12, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    Awesome Girl, glad you had a great time! It’s addicting!

Leave a Reply

