Consistency

20 Jan

No, I am not talking about food, I am talking about the key ingredient to achieving your goal, yes, the key ingredient is CONSISTENCY!  You can do anything half fast, but consistency is the key to achieving so many goals.  Consistency is what takes weight off, what makes you smarter, what makees you better.  Consistency is the key to making relationships stronger and the lack of is what often causes breakups and divorces, how?  Let me show you a few scenarios and then you take a moment to think about it, and bet you’ll agree.

Let’s call her Sally.  Sally works out 3 days a week for an hour and eats good when she can, but the weekends are spent without exercise and eating whatever fatty foods and sweets she wants.  She continues to gain weight because she CONSISTENTLY eats crap and doesn’t exercise on the weekends.  Now Sally and George have been dating for 3 months. He always tells her he is going to call her but doesn’t.  He always shows up late.  She has told him before that these things bother her, but his behaviors don’t change.  He consistently offends her, so she breaks up with him.  Jim then decides to start smoking to deal with the break up.  He consistently smokes 2 packs a day for three years and gets lung cancer.  So sad but The good news is that he is in remission and is dating another girl who is chronically late and never returns calls so I guess they never really offend each other or talk for that matter.

So I’m going to lighten things up a bit and talk to you about one of the girls in my class at Zengofitness.  I remember the first time she came to my class.  She was hesitant, perhaps a bit nervous, and I didn’t think she was going to come back.  She had a little difficulty with the moves and the workout was very challenging for her.  (it’s challenging for everyone) 

I couldn’t teach this Thursday and was bummed because I thought about this particular girl and how good she has become.  Last Tuesday I watched her on the bike, she had incredible focus, her form was amazing and her movements were perfectly synchronized to the beats of the songs!  And I can see a difference in her body, yes she is rocking her Nike workout shorts!  She has become amazing because she consistently comes to class and puts in the effort.  She makes it a part of her schedule and rarely misses a class.

It’s all about consistency so think of one thing you’ d like to achieve and then an action you can consistently do to achieve that goal.  I am going to do a track workout every week till the marathon so I can get faster.  One week isn’t enough, it will take consistency.  What will you do?  Tell me, I’d love to hear it!

3 Responses to “Consistency”

  1. r January 21, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    thx for noticing, spinning is non-negotiable and i do my best to schedule other things around it. i always look forward to your energy and positive attitude. p and i owe our obsession to cycling to you!

  2. ashley brown! January 22, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Consistency. such a perfect blog for how I feel about 2012. I want to perform circus acts. I’ve taken a new interest in acrobatics and in order to get good I must consistently attend symbiotic and acroyoga classes on sunday and wednesday respectively. I’ve had my first contortion gig a few weekends ago and was excited how impressed my audience was, however I was not as impressed. I must consistently stretch and train if i want to get better and impress myself. Contortion is so difficult because it’s best to spend at least 3hours stretching and training, but it’s something I love so I must stay CONSISTENT!

    • mdolente January 22, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

      Thank you so much for sharing your story. I think it is so cool that you want to perform circus acts and its obvious that your efforts are paying off. You should be very proud of yourself that the crowd responded so favorably!!! I know we all want to be our best, but take time to recognize your accomplishments along the way and if there is a training studio you like, please let me know about it. I am working on a special project to recoginize the best studios in the US.

Leave a Reply

