Getting Fit with the Family

26 Dec

It’s Christmas afternoon and I am sitting around with my family. We were all tired from a big Italian feast, very little sleep, and all the commotion. No matter how much coffee we drank, our bodies still felt sluggish.

I knew something had to be done. Despite how cold it was out, I was determined to get in a run. My niece was excited about her new scooter and asked if I’d come outside with her. I asked her if she’d want to scooter with me as I ran. She agreed, so we had a deal.
We started out slowly and soon enough we began to pick up the pace. We talked about school, her friends, her teacher, and life. We enjoyed the natural sunlight and our bodies became warmer with each step. Every time my niece became tired, I found a landmark and challenged her to scooter to the landmark and I would pick up my pace.

By turning the adventure into a game, I made the workout fun for my niece. I was so proud of her for putting forth so much effort and not complaining once. It was a wonderful opportunity to talk with her, have quality time together, and to motivate her to make fitness a priority.

When I got back to the house, my other niece got ready and she and I went for a long walk. We had some things to talk about, so this have us an opportunity to talk freely. I was so proud of her and she agreed that if she were more active, she would sleep better at night.

I love spending time with my family, but I must say exercising today with my Nieces was a special treat. Can you inspire a loved one to get moving? Perhaps take a walk with them or bring them to the gym with you? Think about how you can use your passion to motivate someone else and send me a comment on what you did!

Merry Christmas and may you have a happy and healthy holiday!

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline

Leave a Reply

