What is your Goal?

11 Dec

A few weeks ago a friend of mine and I were running and she asked me if I had decided on a Spring marathon yet. I was slightly annoyed because I had just completed the NY city marathon and that was a pretty big accomplishment, so didn’t I get some time off? Except Anne knows me better, and I was more annoyed that I hadn’t figured out what my next goal would be. I started researching races immediately after our run.

Goal setting is so important for me because it gives me a purpose and puts meaning to my every day workouts. It gives me direction and accountability. Ultimately every step toward my goal gives me a great sense of satisfaction.

My friend and I had been talking about running a marathon, but this weekend we finally made the commitment. Friday night Lindsey and I registered for the New Orleans marathon. After my experience in the Washington, DC marathon (see blog titled Get Up for more info), I decided I would only run fun marathons and I knew New Orleans would be a blast! If you’ve ever been there during Jazz Fest, you know there’s great music, food, drinks, and parties!

So I had set the goal, but what good is goal without a plan of action? So the next thing I did was design our training program on a spreadsheet so we would know how many miles we would have to run on designated days as well as the long run on the weekends.

Once I spoke with my training partner, we agreed that we would start with 14 miles. Knowing that I would be traveling today, I woke up at 5:30 am to meet Lindsey for our run. It was 28 degrees and I had no desire to get out of the car, but once we got started, it felt good! The sun was shining, the scenery was lovely and 14 miles later we had achieved what we set out to do.

My challenge for you is to decide on a goal. Here are a list of some goals that some of my friends have.
Mountain biking trip in Guatamala Chesapeake Bay swim
Iron Girl triathlon
Hike Kilimajaro
Hike Machu Pichu
Miami half marathon
24 minutes for a 5K

These are examples of pretty big goals, and your goal doesn’t need to be such, in fact your goal should only be significant to YOU and YOUR DREAMS. The beauty of the goals is that it is something that YOU yearn to accomplish. Your goal will give you purpose and confidence.

One of the most significant aspects about all of the goals listed above is that each event was held on a specific date. So mabye your goal is to lose 15 lbs or perhaps you want to do 100 cycling classes! Those are both realistic goals, but you must have a date to make the goal concrete.

Next develop a plan of action. So if your goal was to do 100 cycling classes by March 15th, you would then need to pencil in 3 classes a week. Decide what date you will start you regiment. A plan is absolutely necessary to keep you on track. Without a plan, how can you realistically expect to achieve your goal in time?

Enlist a friend, partner, family member, co-worker, or professional to keep you accountable. These people will become your support team and will be very helpful on the days when your energy or willpower is low. They will remind you how important your dedication is to achieving your goals.

So why wait for tomorrow when you could be achieving the life of your dreams today? And please don’t be the person who talks about the big things they are going to do and never does it. Be a doer and not a talker. Otherwise, your words become lies and your nickname becomes Shady.

There are so many great resources out there. Tomorrow I will list websites with events that may be good ideas for goals for you. You are only one step away from living the life you want. If you need any help choosing a goal or formulating a plan, please contact me at Madeline@Madfitness.com

The song of the day is my absolute favorite and to get the full effect of the song, I attached the video from youtube. The song is Waka Waka by Shakira.

The video can be found at the following link:
http://m.youtube.com/watch?desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DpRpeEdMmmQ0&v=pRpeEdMmmQ0&gl=US

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline

Leave a Reply

