A healthy cheese for the holidays, Dr. Oz says so

2 Dec

I normally eat very little cheese because it is often high in fat and calories, so I always hoped to find a low fat version that was good for you and tasted good.  I am really excited to share with you my find at Wegman’s today.  If you have ever seen the cheese counter at Wegman’s, you would know that there are more than 100 types of cheese.  I was lucky enough to have a 20 minute conversation with Becca, the lovely cheese expert at the Wegman’s in Bel Air, Maryland and learn all about the Beemster Premium Gourmet Dutch cheese.  The Beemster is a lite Gouda which originated in Holland.  It is 50% less fat and aged 5 months.  It has a sharp taste so it’s not as creamy as the regular Gouda, but is yummy and will look better on my body.  This is the cheese that Dr. Oz recommends and now I see why.

For one ounce of cheese, there are 80 calories, 5 grams of fat, 0 carbs, and 9 grams of protein!  Now I know many people don’t measure cheese, but just so you know, 1 ounce looks like a 3 dice stacked on top of each other.   It is always good to have an idea of what portion sizes look like so you know how much you should eat.  What is great about this cheese is that it is high in protein and high in calcium, double bonus!   So go ahead have your cheese and enjoy!

Song of the day:  Put it on me by Benny Benassi featuring Pit Bull

http://mp3skull.com/mp3/benny_benassi_put_it_on_me.html

Want more, leave a comment or email me at Madeline@Madfitness.com

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline

Leave a Reply

