What Makes You Happy?

15 Jul

This morning I woke up to read an article listing the top 20 habits that happy people have but never talk about. It was so motivating that I posted it on Facebook. I am a big fan about creating your own happiness now, rather than waiting for someone or something to happen. The 20th habit mentioned in this article was that happy people live a life they actually want to live. Rather than letting the world dictate what you should be doing or how you should live, think about what makes you happy.

Today I’ll talk about the things that make me happy.

I wake up every day and thank God for the wonderful people in my life and everything I have. Gratitude is a big part of my life. It’s easy to get caught up in what everyone else is doing and achieving, but if you can step back and look at all of the wonderful things you have in your life, you will realize you are truly blessed. When I write down the things I am thankful for, I realize I have an awesome life and some pretty amazing opportunities.

Recently I had the opportunity to become an Ambassador for ReebokONE and not only was I excited about having the coolest fitness clothes ever, but I was honored to meet such an amazing group of people. These Reebok Ambassadors were all passionate about fitness and making a difference in people’s lives. It’s the people who your surround yourself with that affect how you view your life. Spend your time with successful people who care about others and you will too!

Recharge. Recently I went to South Beach to spend some time with a friend of mine, relax on the beach and eat good food and dance. We spend so much time doing for others, that we must take time for ourselves. It reminded me that I need to take short trips more often.

Get excited! Growing up my Mom always made a big deal about birthdays, holidays, and anything she could celebrate so I tend to do the same. I love to celebrate people and events, why not? I had a boyfriend once who hid notes and cards for my marathons and always made me feel special. Doesn’t everyone want to feel special to someone?

Make time for the relationships and things that are important to you. Call or spend time with a friend, significant other or family member each week. We are all busy but spending time with loved ones will make your heart happy. Let someone know you are thinking about them.

If you’d like to read the article I mentioned above, here is the link
http://www.marcandangel.com/2014/07/13/20-habits-happy-people-have-but-never-talk-about/#more-763

Reebok summit happy

In Health and Happiness,

Madeline
http://www.Madfitness.com

2 Responses to “What Makes You Happy?”

  1. Andrea Ferry July 15, 2014 at 2:07 pm #

    So glad that Andrea and you are friends. I met a man a few years ago at his home where he was having a garage sale…he and his wife were divorcing after she found another lover. ( Is it really all that easy?) I was sad for him and I guess that I must have told him so…he was a college professor but beyond that, he was a very wise man and I will never forget his words…Life is about gratitude. He was grateful for the love his wife had brought into his life at one time but with that being over, he wasn’t going to fill his life with anger. He wanted her to be happy and he would go on and find more happiness. Wouldn’t we all like to have a best friend who looks at life as a glass half full and not half empty. My daughter does that for me….

    • mdolente July 15, 2014 at 2:23 pm #

      I love Andrea! You raised an amazing girl! Hope to meet you soon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,999 other followers

